Our Enemy the State


I’m borrowing this title from one of my favorite books.

[RANT]

For a long time I haven’t supported the government’s role in marriage because of the inequality for same-sex partners, but it had never affected me personally until today.

Last week I filled out the fifty or so pages of forms necessary to begin Shelley’s and my divorce and submitted them for review before mailing them to Shelley.

I got them back today saying we can’t waive any declarations of p/alimony or child support. It didn’t matter that I was the one who could seek “maintenance” and that I also happened to be the one filing the papers and I made it perfectly clear that this wasn’t something I was interested in. They don’t care that we both agreed to take care of the kids independently while they were in our care. They are demanding to know when they will be with whom, who will provide their health insurance… and a shit load of other things that aren’t any of their damn business.

I think I’ll talk to Shelley about having our written pre-divorce separation agreement papers expanded and sent through lawyers. Fuck them. I don’t plan on ever remarrying and we can work out the tax issues between ourselves. [/rant]

Published in: on April 10, 2011 at 5:53 pm  Comments (8)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://montanaiceweasel.wordpress.com/2011/04/10/our-enemy-the-state/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m beginning to understand why people don’t get divorced when they have kids.

  2. This is definitely not very 29 of them. So easy to get into shit with grant from those in power, such a bitch to be excused even when all parties agree.

    Funny you mention gay marriage. I keep asking my lesbo sister and her GF WHY they wanna get married in the first place. Especially in light of the above.

  3. 29! Most definitely not. What a pain in the ass, we’ve decide to just wait. Screw the government.

  4. Seeing as you have no intention to re-marry and depending on Shelly’s feeling on that for her who cares whether you guys divorce or not?
    Fuck ’em.

  5. Marriage is an arbitrary institution anyway. Do what you want. The kids will be grow soon anyway.

  6. When I went through one of my divorces, I refused to sign THEIR papers. So my stupid lawyer signed them 4 me. That’s why I decided NEVER to get a license for ANYTHING! I refuse to convert my rights to licensed privileges. Besides, I’m not a dog.(contrary to what some may think ;^)

    • I agree, but twenty years ago, I wasn’t as together as I now am.

      • I’m going to file a challenge to that “with it” claim.


Leave a Reply

