Um Yeah.


I thought I’d let the friends who’s only contact with me is through this blog know that I co-authored the saddest thing I ever wrote today:

We wanted to let those of you, who we didn’t already personally contact, know that we (Jay and Shelley) are separating and getting a divorce. For many years our lifestyles have been diverging, and we have come to a point where neither of us can be truly happy while we are together. Shelley will be returning to Durango where she has a much higher chance of finding the type of work that she finds fulfilling. Jay will be staying in The Gulch where he will continue to write and explore the boundaries of modern self-sufficiency. Though there is a lot of pain, this divorce isn’t coming from a place of anger or hurt; but rather from feelings of affection and love towards each other, and a realization that we both would have done anything for the others’ happiness except to live in a way that we would never be happy.

Published in: on February 7, 2011 at 10:25 pm  Comments (19)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://montanaiceweasel.wordpress.com/2011/02/07/um-yeah/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

19 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That’s hard. Best to both of you.

  2. I’m sorry to hear of these unfortunate events. It seems as though you guys approached it quite maturely, which makes it a little bit easier, yet harder at the same time.

    I wish you both well in your new futures.

  3. Sorry. Hope it goes as smoothly as possible.

  4. So sorry about this surprising turn. I hope much happiness lies ahead for both of you.

  5. Thanks everyone.

  6. Well shit.

    kel

  7. So sorry for both of you. That sucks. Wishing you both the best.

  8. The funny thing is this is making us even better friends.

    • Better friends because a major point of tension has been relieved. Not like you weren’t friends to start with, right?

      • Exactly.

  9. Best wishes to all involved, especially the kids.

  10. Sorry to hear. I’m going through something similar as a 7-year relationship is coming to an end (fairly amicably so far) and I feel with you the disorienting, jarring discontinuity of having to reorient my life along an unanticipated new game plan. Best of luck, and feel free to drop me a line if you want to compare notes.

  11. Sorry to hear that, Jay. When I first moved to Montana I was told that for some reason married couples that relocate here usually end up divorced with one or the other moving back.
    I’m afraid you’re in for more rude awakenings from the Land of Make Believe Freedom and Independence.

  12. Sorry to hear. Good luck to the both of you!

  13. Hmm. Another friend of mine just told me about this opening at Mountain Middle School in Durango. Might be of interest…

    • Thanks Dave.

  14. I was sorry to hear about this (haven’t been keeping up on my blog reading, I guess)… it kinda sucks. My best to you all.

  15. Really sorry to hear that. That can’t have been easy for anybody. So, a new chapter at the gulch…

  16. Sorry to hear about this. My best wishes to all of you.
    Brightest Blessings,
    Morrigan


Leave a Reply

