Fight the Good Fight


After suffering from political activist burn out a couple of times in the past, I thought that was what was happening to me this last month, but now I think I’m Burnt out. I’m done. Yeah, I’ve said that before but this time I feel like things have shifted so far, not just with the opposition but also with my desire to fight it, that I’m really done. I’ve come to believe that nothing I do can/will change anything on the big stage. I’ve lost hope, what little hope there was. I have given up on fighting everyone else’s fight for them. I’m going to focus on nothing more than living what freedom I can. Luckily I live in a comparatively very free place and my lifestyle here only increases that freedom. I shared here not that long ago that I had decided to go to Burning Man this year (finally.) The reason I’m going is to try to rediscover the hope that I once felt for humanity. I’ve become such a pessimist, that I can’t even remember what optimism is. Who knows maybe I’ll experience one of those re-births you always hear about at B.M. But, I’m not holding my breath and neither should the readers who come here for my political agitation posts. Good luck on the fight to you guys still in the trenches. For me I’m going to do like a friend of mine says and, have fun be free.

One neat aspect of the preparation for B.M. is that I’m looking into new areas of self-sufficiency. A full week of self-reliance on the Playa, which I want to accomplish without a generator (two years of no power except a genny, really makes a person hate those things,) has led me to building a 12V wind turbine (to charge the Airstream batteries,) I’m almost finished and have spent less than $10. I’ll share the whole story here in a little while.

Published in: on January 14, 2011 at 9:42 pm  Comments (11)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://montanaiceweasel.wordpress.com/2011/01/14/714/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Have a good time, but fir the love of god, stop calling it “BM.” You sound like a nurse on the colon cancer ward.

  2. One of the things that I’ve found is that I have to “give up the fight” pretty regularly. Especially here in the big city, things get oppressive enough that fighting all the time is exhausting.

    So after coming home from my vacation out your way last summer, I bought a guitar and am learning to play. It doesn’t help anyone else, but it’s good for me, and sometimes that has to take priority.

  3. What you should be looking into is a new place to live. I look back and have to scratch my head in bewilderment. Back to when a bunch of liberty and freedom minded people calling themselves “libertarians” were considering settling in Montana. The Last Best Place. Some even chose Granite County. And some did actually make the move. I believe yours was one such family? I was thrilled! God knows that the few of us that had previously moved here for the same reasons were starting to realize that the crap we purposely left behind was slowly surrounding us here. I thought that in numbers, no matter how small, together we had a better chance of fighting that encroachment.
    But then it seemed that everyone, who got what they came for, went about living their own merry life. If I recall correctly the attitude you now describe in this piece started arround the same time you moved up to the Gulch. More specific, after that fiasco fighting the “penning ordinance”. The one the town passed just so it could selectively enforce it against you and the other family that had the nerve to question the powers that be. I guess you figured that now, since you were out of their jurisdiction, you’d be in the clear. Apparently while living your happy life of independence, you didn’t notice (or care?) about the coming changes that WILL soon affect us all. I hate to use cliches, but that pot of lovely tepid water that you’ve been enjoying bathing in will soon be turned up full force and no one will be there to stop it.

    • Actually I fought that fight for the principle of it only. Several times I was all but told, if I took the signs down they’d leave me be.

  4. And your point is? I fail to see the connection between fighting for the “principle” of protecting your property and the actual “battle” against those who are the real threats to it.

    • You go and clean out the bastards, just don’t tell me anything about it.

      I’ve done my part; two years, and thousands of hours, some of which were favors I had to call in from a lawyer friend. The only financial support I got for my efforts was a hundred bucks from a friend I had never met face-to-face. You and Dick were usually the only people who ever physically showed up to support me.

      I no longer live in town, nor will I ever again. I will fence and gate my property and vigorously defend my private property if the county starts going to hell, only until I can liquidate my assets and move to P.I. or Argentina, or Pallas.

      You garner your support, and if you need a rail, tar, or feathers, feel free to ask, until then concentrate on someone else.

      • Actually, that’s not quite right. I gave you that $100 and I’m pretty sure we’ve met face-to-face. That $100 was given to ME by someone neither of us has never met, and I contributed it to pay for the plane ticket of the lawyer who never showed up.

        (Reposted to get it attached to the right thread.)

      • The more I think about this, the more I think you are-perhaps inadvertently- minimizing the support you got from others:

        You got some pro bono advice from a lawyer friend.

        Your kids, your wife, Dick and Elena, and I all showed up in court with you at least once.

        Your wife literally supported you financially by working while you were taking on this court case.

        You got a financial donation that covered your fine when you quit fighting.

        You had someone who proofread some of your court documents.

        At least two people were preparing an educational campaign to inform jurors about their right and responsibility to nullify the law in the expected vicinage of your appeal. Some educational materials- provided for free- were distributed in that vicinage.

        At least one non-lawyer (and I don’t mean me) provided supporting material regarding your legal proceedings.

        You’re burned out- I feel for you on that. After working on the Million Marijuana March in Tucson many years back while I was in college, I was as well. It sucks. Big time.

        I recovered, I learned some self-care strategies, and I’ve been back at it for years now feeling very good about what I do. You may recover, you may not. Not everyone is cut out for activism. There’s nothing wrong with that. Nobody is obligated to put himself in a position he can’t handle.

  5. Actually, that’s not quite right. I gave you that $100 and I’m pretty sure we’ve met face-to-face. That $100 was given to ME by someone neither of us has never met, and I contributed it to pay for the plane ticket of the lawyer who never showed up.

    • I stand corrected.

      • I will deliver you a goat anytime you want since what I did was so easy.


Leave a Reply

