Personal Change


The last few weeks has a been a time of great personal change for me, and as such I haven’t been updating much here. I’m not going into all the details now, but I’ve come to realize that over the last fifteen years or so I’ve been always putting certain others needs before my own. I’ve decided that it’s time for me to be a more attentive to what I want, call it selfish if you want, and to that end the first big announcement is that I’m going to fulfill a frustrated dream of mine from back in ’92…I’m going to Burning Man this year, even if I have to sell everything and hitchhike down there.

On the homestead front: That bastard randy billy goat got into the girls early once again. We’ve had six kids born in the last week. Four have died from exposure, and the remaining two are spending nights in the family room.

Published in: on January 2, 2011 at 8:03 pm  Comments (15)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://montanaiceweasel.wordpress.com/2011/01/02/personal-change/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

15 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Wow, I just visited a couple of the sites for Burning Man. Awesome! I hope you have a great time, and good luck with the kids.

  2. You’re not the only one: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QypKfUKs6HQ

    • Well, at least I won’t be the oldest one there.

  3. Good luck with your quest!

    • I don’t know if quest fits, if you are just trying to rediscover something you lost.

  4. Midlife crisis?

    How long does burning man last? Why can’t you go every year? Assuming of course that the missus gets to do something she wants.

    I see no reason why you should not have gone sooner.

    • The event is one week long. The lil’ lady has an invite to come with, but I doubt she will. I didn’t want to expose the kids to B.M. until I knew they would understand what it was, not to mention the I’ve always placed the need for ________ (something family related) over my want to go to this event.

  5. I don’t see why you shouldn’t be able to get away. Career Annie approves.

    • Will you be going also? 😉

  6. No thank you. Bagging my grey water is not my idea of fun. I will live through you on this one.

    • From what I’ve heard most people evaporate it with a kidding pool brought specifically for that purpose. The creative solutions for the harsh environment are some of the things I’m looking forward to most.

  7. You should stick around the Gulch and enjoy its and your free spirit while you can. That little town at your feet is in the process of instituting big plans that just might encompass a lot of the surrounding areas, including the Gulch. And knowing how much the good old boys just love you, I’m sure they’ll be tripping over themselves to pass ordinances that won’t leave you out.

  8. Huh. According to this: http://theshroom.wordpress.com/2011/01/19/burning-man-2011-sold-out/ if you haven’t already bought your ticket, you may be out of luck.

    Then again, the guy who forwarded me the link pointed out that it may be a hoax.

    • Oops. Nevermind. Looking more like a hoax.

      • It might also have been only the first tier (cheapest) tickets.


Leave a Reply

