Infrastructure


I wanted to spend my summer building fun things like the Greenhouse, the third floor writing room, the fourth floor sundeck, the Eighth floor crows nest, or the 1/3 mile long zipline from the crows nest to the far side of my property but… I decided to be a grown up and work on the more practical Infrastructure projects, some of which I’ve been putting off for years.

These generally aren’t too exciting, and on some I prefer to keep the specifications private so no huge write ups, but here is this summers summary to date:

1) I increased the power I’m making in The Gulch by 300%, thereby completely eliminating the need for a backup generator, and reducing our propane consumption by 90%.

2)I increased the food produced in The Gulch by 400% including our first try at Goat Cheese, gourmet mushrooms and complete success on two new types of garden crops (Kale and Fava Beans.)

3) I increased our crop storage capability by 6000%.

4)I installed a 1″ X 80′ cable for a lightening rod above the house, thereby eliminating my anxiety during our thunderstorms.

5)I added a tertiary backup water source, and I’m currently securing and protecting our primary from surface water contamination.

Published in: on August 16, 2010 at 3:20 am  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://montanaiceweasel.wordpress.com/2010/08/16/infrastructure/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Sounds like a good chunk of stuff done this summer. And now it’ll snow in what, another week or two? 🙂

    • Yeah, there has already been a winter storm warning North of us. I hope we are in Vegas during the first nasty weather.

  2. Im guessing from what I have been able to skim (new reader) that you primarily work off solar power in The Gulch. Did you improve the efficiency of your system or add on to it?

    Just curious, been playing around with a DIY solar array and always looking for what tricks there might be to improve upon it.

    • We added onto our A.E. system. As for improving a PV panel I’ve never heard of it…. a reflector of some sort might help…but I wouldn’t know. Planning your angle and keeping them clean is the best advice. We saw rated watts (and even more on a couple of occasions)on the array many times last winter. This is unheard of.


Leave a Reply

