Shifting Gears


Summer and building season is nearing. I will be shifting gears from my winter political activism posts to my summer self-sufficiency posts very soon. This is because in the summer all my spare time goes towards improving The Gulch and I have very little time to write. Speaking of self-sufficiency, I’ve been slacking in posting about that front. I did my yearly canning of Corned Beef and Cabbage when it was on sale over St. Pat’s. This year’s yield was eighty pounds. We had what should be the last kidding of the “spring”:

Photobucket

Photobucket

The kid was another Buckling, we are finally getting our odds evened out after all the years of mostly Doelings. I should get over 150# of processed nine month old goat chevon (meat) this fall. I’m processing 21 quarts of Scottish Cock-a-Leeky soup tonight (chicken quarters $.59/#), and will be running seventy pounds of ham ($.99/#)in the next couple of days.

Published in: on April 2, 2010 at 8:56 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://montanaiceweasel.wordpress.com/2010/04/02/shifting-gears/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

