My New Favorite Quote


“How to Overthrow the System: brew your own beer; kick in your Tee Vee; build your own cabin and piss off the front porch whenever you bloody well feel like it.” Edward Abbey

This is a kind of funny story. I read Abbey years ago when I was shacked up with this little hippy chick. His book series starting with The Monkey Wrench Gang were funny and insightful (this is where I learned to make Thermite) , but I could never stomach the environmental aspect. I really liked Desert Solitaire but once again I didn’t consider him one of my favorite authors because of his radical environmental beliefs. This quote is funny because even though I’ve read all his works (I believe) and own many of them I never ran across this quote until I bought Voice crying in the Wilderness last week. To be more concise I didn’t read this until I had accomplished all of them.

Published in: on January 8, 2010 at 2:02 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://montanaiceweasel.wordpress.com/2010/01/08/my-new-favorite-quote/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. it’s all about the Yawp. I think Ed would find modern environmentalism FUBAR. Or, we still haven’t gotten The Point. Have fun with his poems:D
    (wyld thang from HT)


Leave a Reply

