Have Fun, Be Free


I used to get political burn out about once a year when I was a libertarian activist. It seemed to me my world was going to hell because as hard as I worked to end tyranny in the world it continued to accelerate towards an Orwellian state.

Laws were invented by man to protect individuals from harm. For a long, long time laws were only an enumeration of universally believed concepts such as killing, hurting or stealing from someone was wrong. Today in America there are literally millions of pages of laws. How did we get here? I think the following excerpt from Rand’s masterpiece Atlas Shrugged explains it best:

There’s no way to rule innocent men. The only power any government has is the power to crack down on criminals. Well, when there aren’t enough criminals one makes them. One declares so many things to be a crime that it becomes impossible for men to live without breaking laws.

If we accept this as the most plausible explanation for the plague of victimless crime laws we have now, it’s obvious that even those who make these laws don’t believe in them. This theory is supported by the regularly reported hypocrisy we see in the press, such as the politician who made a name for himself with his “family values” platform being caught having a homosexual extramarital affair.

Something changed in the way I perceived the world a few years ago. Unlike most of the major ideological shifts that have occurred in my life, I can’t pinpoint an exact event that caused this. I realized that if everyone who believed that a new law was wrong just ignored it there would be no way for it to be enforced. I knew that if I chose to not wear a seat belt, or raise goats in town, or shorten a rifle, or make corn liquor, or smoke an untaxed cigarette (or other plants for that matter) that no one would be harmed. If no one was hurt there was no crime. I knew this but I didn’t really believe it. I was angered and saddened because I knew I would obey those new laws even though they were nothing but victimless, malum prohibitum rubbish. It wasn’t the law or even the system I had problems with; it was my own cowardice. I didn’t have the strength of character to make a stand and knew I’d submit and that my submission would help give the new draconian laws validity.

I don’t think there is any quick or easy way to fix the harm done unto us by all the past generations, at least collectively. I do believe that we can all individually realize our own freedom by living the change we want to see. We need to have the conviction and the courage to make that stand, to honestly say “No, I don’t believe that this is wrong.” We need to live our lives however we choose and allow everyone else to do the same. Simply refusing to submit isn’t enough though; we need to believe strongly enough that it isn’t even a conscious process. We need not to waste one moment of our precious lives to the predators of liberty. Then we can effortlessly and truly have fun and be free.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://montanaiceweasel.wordpress.com/2010/01/02/have-fun-be-free/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Well said…Each of us must live as Sovereign individuals these days..come what may!

    JW


Leave a Reply

