Best movie I’ve seen in a long while


I’m one of those weird people who likes dramas. Four out of my top five currently favorite movies are dramas. A couple of days ago I ran across We Don’t Live Here Any More while looking up clips of some of my more obscure favorite movies. I watched it the other night………late…. late because I knew it would be inappropriate for the kids and unfortunately the Lil’ Lady doesn’t like any movie that doesn’t have a Disney-esque ending. This has to be the best movie I’ve seen since The Lives of Others (#3 on the list) and the most disturbing since Fight Club(still at #5). This movie is a dark and honest look at infidelity, the lengths some people will go to to escape the monotony of the status quo, and the lengths some will go to preserve the same status quo. This movie was able to do something no other movie has ever done. I was actually laughing and crying at the same time. I’m not talking about one immediately following the other but really at the same time. These weren’t tears of mirth, no this part was so sad yet so sad I couldn’t help laughing. I coined the phrase emotional responsibility paradigm after watching this.

The non-drama outlier on my current list is the unrated version of Eurotrip for those who were wondering.

GULCH UPDATE:

The wiring is almost done, I have only 3 runs left and we hung 12 sheets of drywall yesterday. We haven’t received any real snow since December until a few days ago but have been picking up a few inches per day for the last couple of days.

Published in: on March 7, 2009 at 12:35 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://montanaiceweasel.wordpress.com/2009/03/07/best-movie-ive-seen-in-a-long-while/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

