Smell of Fall.


I could be a little premature………I have been called paranoid before after all but, this morning I could get the first hint of fall this year. Efforts have been doubled……….. yet again. Today we accomplished all I aimed to get done (finish grading west side of house, cut one tree into firewood, and unload the 6000# of lumber on the flatbed) and as Big K would say we got a “stretch goal” accomplished also (picked up roughly 25 sheets of 14′ metal roofing I scrounged up).

Did I mention we finished hanging the last roof log yesterday? We are on to closing in. There are still 8 logs left, but they are part of the loft floor joists and can wait till we are closed in.

Once again I really don’t have time to walk everyone through the recent pics, but here they are.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Published in: on August 12, 2008 at 1:40 am  Comments (7)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://montanaiceweasel.wordpress.com/2008/08/12/smell-of-fall/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Impressive, MIW. Is there going to be a fall work/meetup gathering next month?

  2. Bff has generously offered to help sheet rock, that should be sometime next month. I’m sure I can find something for you to do anytime you are up……..when you coming?

  3. Very impressive. But I too feel the change in the air. Apparently the gophers are already tucked in. We registered 36 the other am. And that doesn’t refer to our bust size. No wonder mining and logging were the major Mt industries especially here in the Rock county.
    Any plan 2 if your place isn’t habitable by Halloween?

  4. …………..Bust size……….hum you might want to check Get Your Hands Dirty(listed on my Blogroll), that seems to be a common topic there. There is no plan 2, plan 1 is the only plan. Even if there is no wiring, cabinets, interior doors etc, as long as it’s closed-in, wood stoves installed, and the bath is done we are all good.

  5. Good luck with your building! I truly hope that all continues to go well and you and yours are soon able to live in your new home.

  6. Wow – it looks awesome, MIW. I’m really impressed, and I’ve got my fingers crossed for you guys to get it done by the time it gets really cold up there. 🙂

  7. Us too. But it’s looking really good. I ran 12 more feet of sheeting and hung our fourth window today.


Leave a Reply

